Speed Up Your Computer

26 10 2010

I am a geek, probably not a nerd as I think a nerd needs to be highly intelligent, but I am probably a geek. I especially geek out about mobile (cell) phones, I have a Palm Pre and I am eagerly awaiting the release of HP webOS 2.0, and CES 2011 with the announcement of new phones… you see, it is way too easy to start geeking out.

Geeking out can be useful, I’ve been able to develop a nice set of information for speeding up a computer. I’ve tested this with my mother, who isn’t a geek, and she managed to speed up her computer. Let me know if you try it and it works for you.

Download the following software, start using Google Chrome straight away:

To speed up your laptop, run the following, in this order:

  1. Simplify the user interface: Right Click on my Computer, go to Properties, go to Advance, select performance and choose best performance.
  2. MalwareBytes, delete all highlighted results.
  3. RevoUninstaller, uninstall all but essential software (e.g. keep MS Office and all the newly installed software, remove IE)
  4. CCleaner, click Cleaner (left hand toolbar) then Run Cleaner (bottom right); next Click Registry (left hand toolbar) then Run (bottom right)
  5. Install Microsoft Security Essentials
  6. Run Defraggler and defragment your drive

Some other programs I can recommend:

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

