It’s been a while.

19 09 2011

It has been a long time since I updated this blog. I think in the time that I last wrote something, I have worked for the American Refugee committee and now I am with Save the Children.

In my last blog I mentioned that I have truly merged cultures now that I am a father of a beautiful British, Jamaican, American girl. It is amazing to think that my wife and I are responsible for another human being. The decisions we have to make on her behalf and the care and attention we have to provide is truly intimidating. So far things have gone well and she is standing up and apparently has taken a couple of tentative steps. She will soon be running all over the place!

At the moment I am in Bangladesh helping the Save the Children office put together an implementation plan for a village savings and loans (VSL) activity. VSLs provide the poor with a safe place to save cash, the opportunity to borrow from the pooled group savings and to earn a return on their investment. It is amazing how saving such small sums of cash can really change the lives of the poor.

It is great being able to help so many people around the world to improve their household economic situation. It is tough for everyone right now, and I pray especially for those who have lost jobs due to the economy that they will be able to find further employment.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

