Curry Blog

27 09 2011

I am a huge fan of curry. Leicester, my home city, has a lot of people of South Asian descent and is home to some of the best curries in England. As I write this blog I am in Bangladesh and I have been enjoying some fantastic food. Breakfast has been pretty basic, chapatti with daal and some potato with vegetables. It is nice, but I am longing some toast and jam. Lunch and dinner have been a bit more varied, depending on where I’ve been but every meal has to include rice! I have tried various types of daal, fish cooked countless ways, beef, chicken and one of my favorite items, ‘bhorta’.

Bhorta is green bananas, boiled and then mashed with green chilies, onions, coriander leaves and mustard oil all rolled in to a ball. The mustard oil is amazing; it adds a fantastic taste to the banana a bit of heat but not too spicy. To eat it you pinch a piece off and mix it with rice. You can make bhorta out of many different things; another type I tried was papaya. It is really tasty and I think it is probably pretty good for you too.

On this trip I have travelled south from Dhaka to Patuakhali, to get there we took a MAF (Mission Aviation Fellowship) flight. It was the first time that I have landed on water, I was surprised how smooth it was. I thought it would be bumpy because of waves, but it was just as smooth as landing on a runway, at least it was this time! From Patuakhali we went about an hour and a half further south to Golachipa where we were supposed to cross a river that was probably a couple of miles wide. I have never seen a river like it. It looked like there were two rivers combining to make one huge river. I am not surprised this area of Bangladesh is so prone to flooding. Water is a way of life, yet apparently so few people can swim. Unfortunately, when we arrived at this mega river, there was a storm brewing so we didn’t go across the river. I was quite disappointed, but instead we drove for another 45 minutes to an area on the same piece of land we were on. Meeting beneficiaries of programs makes traveling on the train each day to work very worthwhile. To see the difference organizations like Save the Children is making in people’s lives is very humbling. For example today, we visited a woman who has a fish farm thanks to a USAID funded project. The fish farm will provide a sustainable livelihood for her family and hopefully it will lead to better health and education outcomes for her children.

Tomorrow we head back to Dhaka, there is quite a bit of desk work to be done before I head back to the US. I cannot wait to get home and see my wife and daughter. Apparently Nyah has taken a number of steps, she will be running around in no time!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

